How Much Does a Roof Permit Cost? 30 Cities Compared

An ordinary like-for-like tear-off and reshingle costs $0 in city fees in 16 of the 30 largest U.S. cities we cover and $31 to $514 in the other 14. When a reroof does need a permit, the city's own worked example runs from $31 in San Antonio to $1,367 in San Diego, with a median of $194. Cities price it on a valuation table, a flat reroof line, a rate per roof area or an itemized schedule, sourced city by city.

Published October 2026 Research

Short answer: an ordinary like-for-like tear-off and reshingle on a house costs nothing in city fees in 16 of the 30 largest U.S. cities we cover, because it needs no permit, and $31 to $514 in the other 14. When a reroof does need a permit, the city's own worked example runs from $31 in San Antonio to $1,367 in San Diego, and the median is $194. Six are under $125: Albuquerque, Baltimore, Kansas City, Louisville, Philadelphia, San Antonio. Nine are $125 to $199: Cincinnati, Fort Worth, Houston, Jacksonville, Miami, New York, Pittsburgh, St. Louis, Tucson. Seven are $200 to $299: Charlotte, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Phoenix, Sacramento. Eight are $300 or more: Chicago, Dallas, Long Beach, Portland, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle. Seventeen cities price the permit on the value of the job, ten charge a flat reroof line, one (Jacksonville) prices by roof area, and two (San Diego and Houston) bill hours or build the figure from fee-schedule minimums. In the 14 cities that permit every reroof the example is the ordinary tear-off; in the 16 that exempt it, the example is the first job the page prices that does need a permit, such as new sheathing, rafter work, a material change or a flat roof. This page covers the fee; for when a reroof needs a permit at all, and what brings one in, see Do You Need a Permit to Replace a Roof? 30 Cities Compared. We read each city's fee schedule, exemption list and licensing rule and recorded the city's own reading.

6 / 9 / 7 / 8cities whose own example for a reroof that needs a permit is under $125 / $125 to $199 / $200 to $299 / $300 or more
$31–$1,367the page's own total for a reroof that needs a permit, San Antonio to San Diego; the median of the 30 is $194
16cities charge nothing for an ordinary like-for-like tear-off and reshingle because it needs no permit; the other 14 charge $31 to $514: San Antonio $31, Albuquerque $70, Philadelphia $77, Pittsburgh $142, Houston $147, Miami $154, Jacksonville $168, Los Angeles $201, Sacramento $221, Minneapolis $232, Dallas $321, Long Beach $394, San Jose $447 and San Francisco $514
17cities price the permit on the value of the job; 10 charge a flat line, 1 prices by roof area and 2 (San Diego and Houston) itemize

Every row links to the city page that quotes the rule, so you can read the source language yourself. The table sorts by any column.

All 30 cities

CityReroof that needs a permitThe city's own exampleHow the fee is pricedOrdinary tear-off and reshingleWho may pull itSchedule the city cites, and notes
Albuquerque, NM Under $125 $70 for a residential re-roof: $30 administrative fee + $40 inspection fee under UAC Table 112-G, issued the same day online when there are no truss repairs. A 1,500 sq ft flat-to-pitched conversion is about $373. Flat: Table 112-G sets the residential (R-3) re-roof permit at $70; apartments and other occupancies are priced by valuation from $100 to $480. A roof conversion is a valuation-based building permit with plan review. $70 for a tear-off and new shingles. Every re-roof needs a permit and one inspection; only repairs under $1,000 are exempt. Limited: an owner-occupant may pull it only if they do the work themselves or with W-2 employees (one homeowner's permit per owner per 12 months); homes leased to others need a licensed contractor. 2024 Uniform Administrative Code Table 112-G and 109.2.1; Building Safety permits page
A missed or failed inspection costs a $47 re-inspection fee, and working without the permit costs an investigation fee equal to the permit fee. The permit expires if no inspection is requested within 180 days.
Baltimore, MD Under $125 $109 for an $8,000 rafter and sheathing repair, the case the page prices that needs a permit: $80 permit fee + $4 Building Code Permit Tax + $25 application fee. A $15,000 reframing is $183. Valuation: Section 109 prices an exterior alteration at $10 per $1,000 of estimated cost, $50 minimum, plus a $25 application fee for a one- or two-family dwelling and the 5% Building Code Permit Tax. $0, no permit: replacing roof shingles and re-tarring a flat roof are exempt (BFRCBC 105.2 items 17 and 18). Not stated for owners; the page says Maryland law requires an MHIC-licensed contractor for roofing work done for you. BFRCBC 105.2 items 17 and 18; Section 109.6.1(c), 109.7 and 109.5.7
Membrane, metal or slate jobs are not named in the exemption, so ask DHCD. Permit-required work done without a permit adds a surcharge of the greater of $1,000 or 50% of the permit fee, and a CHAP historic district can require a permit even for minor work.
Charlotte, NC $200 to $299 ⚠ About $256 ($255.55) for an $18,000 reroof that replaces rotten sheathing, the case the page prices that needs a permit: $242.55 from the County valuation table + $3 technology charge + $10 Homeowner Recovery Fund when a contractor pulls it. A $45,000 roof is about $585. Valuation: the Mecklenburg County LUESA Fee Ordinance table, $59.70 up to $3,000, then $12.19 per $1,000 or part over $3,000, with $632.57 plus $5.49 per $1,000 above $50,000. $0, no permit: a roofing replacement of $40,000 or less that uses the same type of materials with no structural work is exempt. An owner-occupant may reroof their own home (the license exemption presumes 12 months of occupancy); an owner-occupant pays the homeowner schedule of $60 plus $45 per inspection trip. LUESA Fee Ordinance table; G.S. 160D-1110; Mecklenburg County roofing handout
The County, not the City, issues the building permit, and no City zoning filing applies to a reroof. A contract over $40,000 inside the city also needs a $2,000 bond posted with the County.
Chicago, IL $300 or more $450 for an express reroofing permit to replace a flat or low-slope roof, the case the page prices that needs a permit (per area up to 5,000 sq ft; a typical two-flat is one unit). A repair or recover is $175, and a $25 review fee can apply. Flat stand-alone lines in Table 14A-12-1204.2: roof replacement $450, repair or recover $175. Reroofing with structural repair is a plan-based permit with a $900 row minimum, and a $600 non-refundable deposit is collected at submission. $0, no permit: replacing a pitched roof (2:12 or steeper) on a residential building up to 4 stories, or its garage, is exempt. Limited: a homeowner may act as general contractor on a primary residence once per calendar year but cannot replace the licensed Illinois roofer, whose license the express permit requires. Table 14A-12-1204.2 (Roof); DOB list of work not requiring a permit; Express Permit Program
Patching up to 25% of any roof without cutting the structure is exempt on every building. The permit expires if a first inspection is not passed within 540 days.
Cincinnati, OH $125 to $199 About $172 for a $2,000 sheathing repair, the first case the page prices that needs a permit: $106 + $49 processing fee + about $17 in surcharges. A $6,000 rafter and decking repair is about $312. Valuation: the July 1, 2026 schedule on the value of the structural work rounded up to $1,000 (no-plans column $106 at $2,000, $232 at $6,000), a $49 processing fee and five surcharges of about $11 per $100. $0, no permit: replacing roof coverings on a one- to three-family house is exempt if no more than two coverings remain and the structure is not overloaded. An owner-occupant of a one- to three-family home may replace their own roofing; structural repairs can be owner-done if they live there at least a year afterwards. A hired roofer needs a city registration ($131.25 a year). Cincinnati Building Code 1101-17.1(17)(b); July 1, 2026 fee schedule; Repairs Without Plans application
A historic landmark, historic district or Urban Design Overlay property needs a Certificate of Appropriateness first ($151 plus surcharges). Working without a required permit adds an investigation fee equal to the permit fee.
Dallas, TX $300 or more $321 for a typical single-family reroof: $181 base permit fee (Table B-II) + $125 inspection fee for one trade + $15 technology fee. It is $339.10 in a planned development, specific use permit or deed-restricted area (10% surcharge on the permit fee). Flat: Chapter 52 Table B-II charges $181 per dwelling unit for alterations and repairs whatever the roof costs, because Texas LGC 214.907 bars value-based residential fees; the 2025 schedule adds $125 per trade and $15 per document. $321 for a full tear-off and new shingles. Only reroofing of two roofing squares (200 sq ft) or less is exempt. Limited: a homesteading owner may act as contractor after signing an affidavit that nobody else is paid to do any part of the work; otherwise a registered roofer pulls it. Chapter 52 Section 301.2.1 item 7 and Table B-II; Planning and Development fee schedule eff. 2025-07-01
A failed inspection adds $75, and adding a third-party energy code provider after applying costs a $30 record change fee. Conservation and historic overlay districts need approvals first.
Fort Worth, TX $125 to $199 $168.95 for a reroof that replaces any decking: $119.00 one-trade residential remodel fee + $33.08 application fee + $16.87 technology fee under Fee Ordinance 26-28781, effective October 1, 2026. A 20-square and a 40-square roof pay the same. Flat: the one-trade residential remodel fee of $119.00 plus the application and technology fees, whatever the roof size, because Texas LGC 214.907 bars value-based residential fees. $0, no permit: a shingle-only replacement on a house or its accessory buildings with the decking left in place is exempt. A building contractor registered with the city ($178 a year) or an owner-occupant with a homestead permit may pull it. Fee Ordinance 26-28781; Administrative Code 105.2; Development Services roofing FAQ
Replacing rafters or ridge boards needs a building permit, and a pitch change needs plans. If decking is replaced without a permit the investigation fee equals the permit fee.
Houston, TX $125 to $199 ⚠ About $147 for a re-roof or overlay: the $91.06 minimum permit fee + $22.77 plan review (25%) + $33.56 administrative fee. The page says a re-roof priced higher by the reviewer can reach a few hundred dollars. No separate re-roof line in the 2026 Building Code Enforcement schedule, so the page applies its $91.06 structural minimum, the non-refundable plan review fee of 25% of the permit fee and the $33.56 admin fee. About $147 for a tear-off re-roof (Re-Roof Only Worksheet CE-1109) or an overlay (form CE-1104); only covering repairs of 100 sq ft or less are exempt. The owner, an agent or a contractor may buy the permit because Houston licenses no general contractors; the owner signs the Declaration in Support of Application. HPC Residential Roofing Permit page (HPWCODE 1140); 2026 Building Code Enforcement fee schedule; Residential Permitting 101
Plan review takes 10 business days and the permit is valid six months. A re-roof that exposes the attic insulation may need to bring it to the Texas energy code.
Indianapolis, IN $200 to $299 ⚠ $290 for a structural permit when a reroof replaces a rafter or more than 128 ft of decking, adds load or uses heat-applied roofing: $40 application + $100 plan review + $150 issuance (miscellaneous residential). As a remodel or repair permit it is $390 for a house up to 1,000 sq ft. Flat: the January 5, 2026 DBNS fee schedule has no reroof line, so the cost depends on the permit subtype DBNS assigns, $290 miscellaneous residential or $390 remodeling, alteration or repair, with more per 500 sq ft above 1,000 sq ft. $0, no permit and no notification: since January 1, 2026 a like-for-like replacement by a listed contractor or the owner-occupant is exempt. Limited: the exemption covers a listed contractor or a person who owns or is buying the home to occupy it; a landlord or an unlisted handyman needs the structural permit. Sec. 536-201(b)(2), G.O. 38, 2025; DBNS fee schedule of 2026-01-05
An Improvement Location Permit ($140) is added only if the roof's height, size or bulk changes. Application and plan review fees are non-refundable, and historic districts need a certificate of appropriateness even for exempt work.
Jacksonville, FL $125 to $199 $167.50 for a full tear-off and reshingle of a 2,400 sq ft roof: 3 x $10 = $30, so the $150 minimum with inspections applies, plus a $17.50 construction and demolition debris fee. A small reroof (five squares or less, $2,500 or less) is $97.50. Per area with a minimum: Section 320.409(10) charges $10 per 1,000 sq ft of roof with an $80 minimum (no inspection) or $150 (inspected), plus the $17.50 debris fee. A roof would have to exceed 15,000 sq ft to top the minimum. $167.50 for a full tear-off and reshingle with inspections. Every reroof needs a permit. An owner-builder may reroof their own residence (not for sale or lease) by applying in person, on the deed, with proof of homestead; a hired roofer must be state-certified or registered. Ordinance Code 320.408(f) and 320.409(10); Building Inspection Division FAQ
Florida's 1% and 1.5% building-code surcharges ($2 minimum each) apply to permit fees on top of the $167.50. Jobs over $5,000 need a recorded Notice of Commencement before the first inspection.
Kansas City, MO Under $125 About $101 ($101.30) for a $12,000 reroof with 32 sq ft or more of new decking, the case the page prices that needs a permit: $58 for the first $2,000 plus 10 x $4.33. A $20,000 job is $135.94. Valuation: the one- and two-family table in Section 18-20(b)(2), $58 for the first $2,000 plus $4.33 per additional $1,000 or fraction; IB100 lists roof sheathing among work needing no plan review. $0, no permit: replacing light roof covering on a one- or two-family home is exempt (Section 18-16(b)(1)k). An owner-occupant of a single-family home who pulls a building permit may hire roofing subcontractors to work under it (IB146); the city has no roofing contractor license class. KC Building and Rehabilitation Code 18-16(b)(1)k and 18-20(b)(2); IB100
Replacing less than 32 sq ft of sheathing is exempt. Starting permit work before the permit is issued triples the fee.
Long Beach, CA $300 or more ⚠ About $394 for a 20-square composition shingle roof valued at $10,000: $277 permit ($149 + 8 x $16) + $115 processing fee + state seismic and green-building fees. A 12-square roof is about $330, and clay tile on the same 20 squares is about $716. Valuation: IB-077 minimum valuation per roofing square ($500 composition, $900 concrete tile, $1,700 clay tile), then $149 for the first $2,000 plus $16 per $1,000 up to $20,000, plus a $115 processing fee. No plan check fee on an express permit. About $394 for a 20-square composition roof as an express permit with no plans (online for 1-2 family homes). Only 100 sq ft of repair in 12 months and roof coatings are exempt. Limited: a homeowner may pull it for a principal residence lived in 12 months, no more than twice in three years (IB-029); otherwise a CSLB-licensed contractor with a Long Beach business license. LBMC 18.04.020; IB-077 and IB-058; IB-029
Skipping the permit costs an investigation fee equal to the permit fee with a $465 minimum. A full tear-off is required when two or more layers exist or the deck is water-soaked.
Los Angeles, CA $200 to $299 About $201 for a $5,000 re-roof per the LADBS calculator, surcharges included; $250 at $10,000, $424 at $20,000 and $466 at $25,000. There is no plan check fee on an express permit. Valuation: the LADBS Permit Fee Calculator run as a one- or two-family alteration. The valuation table prices re-roofing at $2 per sq ft for composition shingle, $6 for concrete tile and $11 for clay tile, or your contract if higher. About $201 for an express re-roof permit on a $5,000 job. The page says a 2,000 sq ft composition roof is valued near $4,000 and pays the minimum. Only repairs valued at $2,500 or less are exempt. Homeowners may buy the express permit for their own single-family home; otherwise a CSLB-licensed roofer pulls it. LAMC 91.106.2 item 1; Express Permits IB P/GI 2026-003; LADBS Permit Fee Calculator
Cards add 2.7%. Replacing more than 50% of a residential roof requires a CRRC-rated cool roof, and Class A covering is required in a Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zone.
Louisville, KY Under $125 ⚠ $75 for a $10,000 job that replaces rafters, trusses or sheathing, the first case the page prices that needs a permit: $50 plus $2.50 per $1,000 calculates to the $75 minimum. A $20,000 structural job is $100. Valuation: LMCO 150.096 partial alterations at $50 plus $2.50 per $1,000 of estimated cost, $75 minimum (schedule revised 2/6/2024). $0, no permit: an in-kind replacement is ordinary repair under KRS 198B.010, and the fee schedule has no reroof line. Not stated on the page; the steps have the contractor file a Residential Alteration permit. LMCO 150.096; KRS 198B.010; Kentucky Residential Code R905.2.8.5
Starting permitted work without a permit can draw a penalty equal to the fee. A change to a different roof covering is not clearly in kind, so the page says to ask Construction Review.
Miami, FL $125 to $199 ⚠ About $154 for a $20,000 shingle reroof: the $110 minimum, a $40 application fee and about $4 in state surcharges. A $45,000 tile roof is about $271. A county code-compliance surcharge is not quantified. Valuation: 0.50 of the estimated construction cost, read as one-half of one percent, with a $110 minimum, plus a $40 application fee and state surcharges of 1% and 1.5% (at least $2 each). About $154 on a $20,000 shingle reroof. Only ordinary minor repairs are permit-free, with the Building Official's approval. An owner-occupant of a one- or two-family home may file as owner-builder under FS 489.103(7) by appearing in person; otherwise a Florida roofing license or Miami-Dade certificate of competency is needed. City Code 10-5 and 10-18; FBC Existing Building 706; HVHZ sections 1512 through 1525
Roofing is exempt from the city solid waste surcharge. The SAVE pilot halves city fees for qualifying reinforced roofs until February 12, 2027.
Milwaukee, WI $200 to $299 ⚠ About $299 ($299.40) for an $8,000 rafter replacement over 400 sq ft, the case the page prices that needs a permit: $150 permit minimum + $125 plan review minimum + $4.40 surcharge + $20 processing fee. Re-framing 1,000 sq ft for $20,000 is about $599. Valuation: a one- or two-family alteration at 1.6% of the cost of construction ($150 minimum), plus plan review of $0.25 per sq ft altered ($125 minimum), a 1.6% training and technology surcharge and a $20 processing fee. $0, no permit: replacing any quantity of roof covering, or the decking without changing the framing, on a one- or two-family home is exempt. An owner who lives in the home can do the work, and pull a permit for structural work, without any license; a hired roofer needs a City Home Improvement Contractor License. MCO 200-24-1.5-f-5 and f-6; DNS re-roofing form; MCO 81-6
A new roof system adding 5% or more dead load needs plans and a permit. Historic and Neighborhood Conservation districts need separate approvals.
Minneapolis, MN $200 to $299 $232 ($231.80) for an $8,000 reroof: $104.20 for the first $2,000 + 6 x $20.60 = $227.80, plus a $4.00 state surcharge. A $20,000 reroof is $485.00. Valuation: no flat reroof fee. $104.20 for the first $2,000 plus $20.60 per additional $1,000 up to $25,000, plus the state surcharge of 0.0005 times the value; 65% plan review applies only when plans are reviewed. $232 ($231.80) for a full tear-off on an $8,000 job. Only a repair using less than one bundle (33 1/3 sq ft) is exempt. Homeowners who live in the home can pull the permit and do the work themselves; a contractor needs a Minnesota residential license or a city specialty license. Construction Code Services roofing handout; Minneapolis building permit fee schedule
Repairs to rafters or trusses need an additional permit and a framing inspection. Pre-approved licensed contractors can use the express permit tool, and the city may double the fee if work starts before the permit.
New York, NY $125 to $199 About $182 to file a $25,000 job that replaces the roof deck, the case the page prices that needs a DOB filing: $130 minimum for the first $5,000 plus $2.60 per additional $1,000 at a 1-3 family home. A $60,000 roof files at about $273. The PE or RA fee is separate. DOB alteration filing under Table 28-112.2 (as amended by L.L. 128 of 2024): $130 minimum for the first $5,000 at a 1-3 family home, then $2.60 per $1,000. Other buildings under 7 stories: $225 for the first $3,000 plus $10.30 per $1,000. $0, no DOB filing: new shingles, membrane, coverings, cant strip or insulation above the deck are exempt. Licensed only: a PE or RA files in DOB NOW, the permit goes to a Registered General Contractor, and a DCWP Home Improvement Contractor license applies at 1-4 family homes. 1 RCNY 101-14 Table 2 IV.1 and IV.2; Admin Code Table 28-112.2; Local Laws 92 and 94 of 2019
Replacing the entire deck or roof assembly also triggers a sustainable roofing zone (4 kW of solar, a green roof, or both) on 100% of the roof. Asbestos requirements must be satisfied before DOB issues a permit.
Philadelphia, PA Under $125 About $77 ($76.50) for the EZ roof covering permit on a one- or two-family home: a $69 flat fee plus $3 city and $4.50 state surcharges, with the $25 filing fee applied to that balance. A reroof outside the EZ standard is priced as an alteration, about $364 for a 1,000 sq ft rowhouse roof. Flat: the roof covering (replacement only) line in L&I's fee summary, $69 for 1-2 family homes; other occupancies pay $76 for the first 4,000 sq ft plus $3.80 per 100 sq ft. Alterations are $76 for 500 sq ft plus $56 per 100 sq ft, or 2% of cost with a $253 minimum. $77 ($76.50) EZ permit for a full covering replacement with the sheathing sound. Only maintenance repairs are exempt. Limited: L&I lets an owner who lives in a one- or two-family home hold the permit, but the EZ standard needs a roof certification from a licensed contractor at final inspection. L&I July 2026 fee summary (roof covering row); EZ Re-Roofing standard PB_012
More than 10% sheathing replaced, a skylight or an added load over 5% takes the job out of the EZ process. A contractor with a current license, insurance and tax account may get the permit issued immediately.
Phoenix, AZ $200 to $299 $231 for a 2,000 sq ft roof that changes material without structural work (valued at $3,280), the first case the page prices that needs a permit: Table A $195 on the first $1,000 plus $12 per additional $1,000, no plan review under $5,000. A shingle-to-tile conversion starts at $9,200 and costs $303 plus $303 plan review, about $606. Table A of the 2026 Development Fee Schedule (Appendix A.2) on the higher of the city's valuation ($1.64 per sq ft for shingle tear-off, $9,200 plus for tile) or your contract, with 100% residential plan review above $5,000. $0, no permit: replacing or recovering a roof with the same type of material is exempt (two shingle layers maximum). An owner who will occupy the home may do the work under ARS 32-1121.A.5; a hired roofer needs an Arizona ROC license number on the permit. 2024 PBCC 105.2 Building item 16; 2026 Development Fee Schedule Appendix A.2 Table A; Permit Guide TRT 00823
Replacing rotted rafters, trusses or sheathing is a structural repair that needs a permit. Reroofing without a required permit costs an investigation fee of at least $250 plus double the permit fee.
Pittsburgh, PA $125 to $199 ⚠ $141.50 for a $15,000 reroof under an EZ permit: $90 calculated, so the $130 minimum applies, + $2 technology fee + $4.50 state training fund + $5 digital record fee. A $35,000 tear-off is $224.50, or $274.50 if the portal adds the $50 zoning review. Valuation: the 2026 residential base fee of $6.00 per $1,000 of construction value ($130 minimum) plus fixed fees; an EZ permit costs the same as a standard permit and is non-refundable. $141.50 for a tear-off and new shingles under the EZ roofing permit (no plans, issued within one business day). Only ordinary repairs are exempt. The homeowner at a primary residence, a licensed City of Pittsburgh contractor or a registered Pennsylvania Home Improvement Contractor. PLI 2026 fee schedule; PLI EZ Permits residential roofing
More than 10% new sheathing, any rafter work, or a historic district or floodplain takes the job out of EZ and into a standard Building and Development Application.
Portland, OR $300 or more ⚠ About $880 for an $18,000 reroof that needs a permit (a townhouse or a Wildfire Zone): building permit $443.41 + 12% Oregon surcharge $53.21 + Development Services fee $95.58 = $592.20, plus a $288.22 plan review and process fee (65%). A $10,000 job is $437.65 before plan review. Valuation: the building permit table on fair market value ($220.85 for the first $2,000 plus $13.91 per additional $1,000, $167 minimum), plus a 12% state surcharge, a Development Services fee and 65% plan review. $0, no permit: reroofing a house with a roofing material of similar weight is exempt, including replacing some or all of the sheathing. A townhouse or a Wildfire Zone reroof needs the permit. A homeowner may reroof their own house and sign the application as owner; a contractor needs an Oregon CCB license listed on the permit. PP&D building permit fee schedule; Oregon surcharge; PP&D exempt work list
Where a submittal is exempt from plan review under ORS 455.628 a processing fee of 50% of the plan review amount replaces it. Fire-resistant roofing is required in a Wildfire Zone.
Sacramento, CA $200 to $299 $221 ($220.80) for a $10,000 owner-pulled re-roof: the flat $175 Re-Roof permit + $17.50 technology + $26 General Plan + $1 green building + $1.30 strong motion. A $25,000 contractor job is about $272, and changing material adds a $132 Planning form. Flat: Table B.1 (in effect since July 19, 2025) sets the Re-Roof minor permit at $175 with no plan review fee, plus valuation-based surcharges: technology at 10% of the fee, General Plan at $2.60 per $1,000, and strong motion and green building fees. $221 for a $10,000 tear-off by an owner and about $272 at $25,000 by a contractor. Every re-roof needs the Re-Roof minor permit. Homeowners can pull a residential re-roof permit online for a single-family home or duplex; licensed contractors can too. Table B.1 residential fee sheet; CDD-0223 Planning form; CDD-0304 cool roof sheet
A contractor permit holder also pays the business operations tax (valuation x 0.0004). Replacing more than 50% of the roof surface triggers cool roof rules in climate zone 12.
San Antonio, TX Under $125 $31 online: the $28.75 flat re-roof fee in the FY 2027 schedule plus two 4% surcharges. A paper application processed by staff adds the $11.50 convenience fee for $42.55, and card payments add 3%. Flat: the Residential Repair Existing Re-Roof Fee in the FY 2027 Development Fee Schedule (revised September 2026), $28.75 whatever the roof size or job cost. $31 online ($28.75 plus surcharges) for a tear-off at the same pitch and material, issued over the counter. The exempt-work list has no reroofing item. A homeowner may apply by attesting under City Code 10-115(a)(1) that they will own, occupy or rent the home for 12 months after the project; a roofer applying must be registered with the city. DSD FY 2027 Development Fee Schedule; City Code 10-6(e) and 10-115
A change of pitch or to tile needs an engineer's assessment report, and pitch changes go to full plan review. Starting before the permit doubles the fee; two layers is the roofing maximum.
San Diego, CA $300 or more About $1,367 for a re-sheathing permit with two plan check hours, the first case the page prices that needs a permit: $353.68 plan check + $264.25 inspection + $737.00 General Plan Maintenance Fee + $12.16 mapping fee. A 2,000 sq ft roof structure replacement is about $2,956. Itemized in IB 501 Table 501C: re-sheathing at $176.84 per plan check hour plus a $264.25 inspection fee; roof structure replacement $1,942.13 plan check plus $264.25 per 2,000 sq ft. State fees and a $17.11 collection charge are added at issuance. $0, no permit: renewing roof coverings without altering the roof structure or diaphragm is exempt, and in-kind sheathing repair up to 25% of the roof is exempt on houses. An owner may file with the Owner-Builder Verification Form DS-3042, or a licensed contractor files. SDMC 129.0203(a)(16); Information Bulletin 123; IB 501 Table 501C
A permit is always required on a designated historical resource or in a historic district. The $737.00 General Plan Maintenance Fee is paid once on plan-reviewed work, and a $58.00 lead hazard fee applies to pre-1978 buildings.
San Francisco, CA $300 or more ⚠ $514 and up on DBI's reroofing page for a house or duplex, a figure that includes the Public Works street space permit fee (Table 1A-G itself lists $320). A building of three or more units is $714 and up. A structural reroof is priced on valuation: about $1,056 for a $15,000 job. Flat: Table 1A-G (effective July 12, 2026) sets the re-roofing fee at $320 for single-family homes and duplexes and $556 for all others; DBI's online page quotes $514 and $714 and up with street space included. State fees: $4 per $100,000 and 0.00013 of valuation. $514 and up (online reroofing permit, house or duplex). A full tear-off is a permit every time; only reroofing under 25% of the roof in 12 months with no sheathing work is exempt. Limited: only a licensed C-39 roofer can apply for the online reroofing permit; an owner doing their own roof files at the Permit Center. SF Building Code 106A.2 item 13; DBI Table 1A-G; DBI online reroofing permit page
If the job replaces framing, decking or sheathing it becomes an over-the-counter building permit on the Table 1A-A valuation schedule. Planning's fee for roofs approved over the counter is half its normal application fee.
San Jose, CA $300 or more ⚠ About $447 for a counter-filed residential reroof: the $236 Reroofing Permit (two inspections) plus the $211 re-roof processing line in the FY2026-27 schedule. The page says the online checkout may price the processing component differently. Flat: the residential Reroofing Permit at $236 for up to two inspections, plus $157 per half hour for each additional inspection, and a $211 processing line (1.0 hour) in the FY2026-27 schedule. About $447 for a full tear-off filed at the counter ($236 + $211); the online checkout shows the exact total. Only work on less than 25% of the roof in 12 months is exempt. Either the roofer or the owner: an owner-builder who has lived in the principal residence 12 months may pull it, and contractors need a state license for jobs of $1,000 or more. SJMC 24.02.120; FY2026-27 fee schedule (effective 2026-07-01)
Reroofing without a permit is charged two times the plan review and inspection cost. A reinspection fee can be charged, and the permit expires if work has not started within 12 months.
Seattle, WA $300 or more About $884 for an $18,000 re-roof with new sheathing at a house, the case the page prices that needs a permit: index $597 + 40% plan review $238.80 + $41.79 technology fee + $6.50 state fee. With 100% plan review for rafter or truss work the same job is about $1,260. Table D-1 of the 2026 Fee Subtitle on job value ($325 for the first $1,000 plus $1.60 per additional $1,000), plus 40% STFI plan review or 100% full review, a 5% technology fee and a $6.50 state surcharge. $0, no permit: a roof recover or a roof replacement at a house, duplex or townhouse with the envelope unchanged is exempt. Not stated for homeowners; the page says roofing contractors must be registered with Washington L&I. Seattle Residential Code R105.2 items 11 and 12; 2026 SDCI Fee Subtitle Table D-1; SDCI Re-Roof Permit page
Replacing sheathing of any size takes the job out of the exemption. A commercial or multifamily re-roof permit is a flat half base fee, about $178.30. Construction permit fees rose 18% in 2026.
St. Louis, MO $125 to $199 ⚠ $125 for a $10,000 reroof that replaces more than 25% of the sheathing: $25 application fee + $100. An $18,000 switch to another roofing type is $205 ($25 + $180). Valuation: the Building Division's table charges a $25 application fee plus $19, $23 or $30 up to $3,000, then $10 per $1,000 or fraction above that; nothing is refundable. $0, no permit: recovering or replacing the covering with the same type, two layers maximum, with 25% or less of the sheathing replaced. The owner, a lessee or an agent may apply, and an owner-occupant may draw the plans; the Building Division lists no roofing or general contractor license. Ord. 70795 Sec. 105.2 item 3; Building Division fee table; Table R109.4
Starting before the permit adds a surcharge ($90 on a permit fee of $51 to $200). Historic Districts and City Landmarks need Cultural Resources Office approval.
Tucson, AZ $125 to $199 About $187 for a $3,000 sheathing repair, the first case the page prices that needs a permit: $89.45 + $22.95 = $112.40, plus $56.20 plan review and the $18.54 minimum digital filing fee. A $15,000 job with structural work is about $600. Valuation: the fee schedule effective July 1, 2026 on your signed contract value, $89.45 for the first $2,000 plus $22.95 per additional $1,000 up to $25,000, plus residential plan review at 50% and a 1% digital filing fee ($18.54 minimum). $0, no permit: replacing roofing with the same type of material when no structural work is involved and the building is not historic. An owner may do the work on a home they occupy under the owner-builder exemption (A.R.S. 32-1121.A.5) and file the Owner/Builder Affidavit; rental properties need a licensed contractor. PDSD fee schedule eff. 2026-07-01; 2024 building code amendments
Replacing sheathing, decking, joists or trusses needs an Addition or Alteration permit, and so does a new skylight or roof vent. A material change is outside the similar-materials exemption, so ask PDSD.

The status is the band of the city's own worked example for a reroof that needs a city permit: the total the page states, including every city fee the example bundles (the building permit, plan review, processing, technology and state surcharges, and any debris or administrative fee the page folds in). The job differs by city and the cell says what it is. In the 14 cities that permit every reroof it is an ordinary tear-off and reshingle on a house. In the 16 that exempt a like-for-like reroof it is the first case the page prices that does need a permit: replaced sheathing or decking in nine, rafters or trusses in four, and a material change, a flat roof or a townhouse or Wildfire Zone reroof in the other three. A different figure the page gives only for another job or a contingency is noted in the cell, not used. Contractors' prices, engineers' and architects' fees and the cost of the roof itself are never included. The reshingle column reports what the page says an ordinary like-for-like tear-off and reshingle costs in city fees, with $0 meaning no permit is needed; compare that column when the examples describe different jobs. The fee-basis column sorts a flat reroof line first, then a rate per roof area, then a valuation table, then itemized or hourly pieces. The who-pulls-it column sorts an owner first, then limited or conditional, then licensed contractor only, then not stated. A flag marks a row where the city's own documents disagree or the page calls a figure an estimate or says to confirm it. Download the table as CSV.

What the comparison shows

The city's own example is under $125 in 6 cities and $300 or more in 8

Under $125: San Antonio $31, Albuquerque $70, Louisville $75, Philadelphia $77, Kansas City $101 and Baltimore $109. $125 to $199: St. Louis $125, Pittsburgh $142, Houston $147, Miami $154, Jacksonville $168, Fort Worth $169, Cincinnati $172, New York $182 and Tucson $187. $200 to $299: Los Angeles $201, Sacramento $221, Phoenix $231, Minneapolis $232, Charlotte $256, Indianapolis $290 and Milwaukee $299. $300 or more: Dallas $321, Long Beach $394, San Jose $447, Chicago $450, San Francisco $514, Portland $880, Seattle $884 and San Diego $1,367. The median of the 30 is $194. The examples are not the same job: in the 14 cities that permit every reroof the figure is the ordinary tear-off and reshingle, and in the 16 that exempt it the figure prices the first job that does need a permit. Phoenix's $231 is a material change without structural work (a shingle-to-tile conversion there is about $606), Indianapolis's $290 is the lower of two subtype fees ($390 for a remodel or repair permit), San Jose's $447 is a counter filing that includes a $211 processing line, Portland's $880 includes a 65% plan review fee that the page says a 50% processing fee may replace, and San Diego's $1,367 includes a $737.00 General Plan Maintenance Fee. Chicago's $450 prices a flat or low-slope roof, because a pitched roof there is exempt. Four of the eight at $300 or more are ordinary tear-offs in cities that permit every reroof (Dallas, Long Beach, San Jose and San Francisco); the other four are jobs that exceed an exemption (Chicago's flat roof, Seattle's new sheathing, Portland's townhouse or Wildfire Zone reroof and San Diego's re-sheathing).

An ordinary tear-off and reshingle costs $0 in 16 cities and $31 to $514 in the other 14

Sixteen pages say replacing a like-for-like covering on a house needs no permit, so the city fee is nothing: New York, Chicago, Phoenix, Seattle, Portland, San Diego, Charlotte, Indianapolis, Baltimore, Fort Worth, Milwaukee, Louisville, Tucson, Kansas City, St. Louis and Cincinnati. The other 14 charge, in order of cost: San Antonio $31, Albuquerque $70, Philadelphia $77, Pittsburgh $142, Houston $147, Miami $154, Jacksonville $168, Los Angeles $201, Sacramento $221, Minneapolis $232, Dallas $321, Long Beach $394, San Jose $447 and San Francisco $514. The median among those fourteen is about $185. Seven of them are flat lines (Dallas, San Antonio, Philadelphia, San Jose, San Francisco, Sacramento and Albuquerque), five are valuation-based (Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, Pittsburgh and Long Beach), Jacksonville prices by roof area with a minimum that almost every house pays, and Houston builds its figure from fee-schedule minimums. Los Angeles and Long Beach issue it as an express permit and Philadelphia and Pittsburgh as an EZ permit. In the cities that permit every reroof the exemption is only for small repairs: Los Angeles exempts repairs valued at $2,500 or less, Dallas two roofing squares (200 sq ft), Houston and Long Beach 100 sq ft, Minneapolis less than one bundle (33 1/3 sq ft), Albuquerque repairs under $1,000, and San Francisco and San Jose reroofing under 25% of the roof in 12 months. San Jose's and Miami's figures are the totals the page states for a typical job; San Jose's depends on whether the $211 processing line is charged online.

17 cities price the permit on job value, 10 charge a flat line, 1 prices by roof area

A valuation table sets the fee in New York, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Seattle, Miami, Portland, Charlotte, Minneapolis, Baltimore, Milwaukee, Louisville, Tucson, Kansas City, St. Louis, Pittsburgh, Cincinnati and Long Beach. The tables differ: Phoenix values shingle tear-off at $1.64 per sq ft, Los Angeles composition shingle at $2 per sq ft, and Long Beach at a minimum valuation per roofing square ($500 composition, $900 concrete tile, $1,700 clay tile); Miami charges 0.50 of estimated cost with a $110 minimum, Pittsburgh $6.00 per $1,000 with a $130 minimum, Milwaukee 1.6% of cost with a $150 minimum, Louisville $50 plus $2.50 per $1,000 with a $75 minimum, and Baltimore $10 per $1,000 with a $50 minimum. A flat line is used in Chicago, Dallas, San Antonio, Philadelphia, San Jose, Indianapolis, San Francisco, Sacramento, Fort Worth and Albuquerque: Sacramento $175, San Francisco $320 (or $514 and up on DBI's online page), San Jose $236, Albuquerque $70, San Antonio $28.75, Philadelphia $69, Dallas $181 and Fort Worth $119.00 per trade, plus Chicago's $450 for a flat roof and Indianapolis's $290 or $390 permit subtype. Dallas and Fort Worth both cite Texas Local Government Code 214.907, which bars value-based residential fees. Jacksonville charges $10 per 1,000 sq ft of roof with an $80 or $150 minimum. San Diego bills plan check by the hour and adds an inspection fee, and Houston has no separate re-roof line, so the page applies its structural minimum, a 25% plan review fee and an admin fee (Houston and San Diego).

In the 16 exempt cities, new sheathing is the usual way a reroof turns into a fee

The 16 cities that exempt a like-for-like reroof still price the first job that needs a permit. Replaced sheathing, decking or a roof deck is what the example prices in nine: New York $182, Seattle $884, San Diego $1,367, Charlotte $256, Fort Worth $169, Tucson $187, Kansas City $101, St. Louis $125 and Cincinnati $172. Rafters or trusses are the trigger in four: Indianapolis $290, Baltimore $109, Milwaukee $299 and Louisville $75 (Indianapolis, Louisville and Baltimore also list decking or sheathing work). Three others price a different line: Phoenix a material change without structural work ($231; shingle to tile is about $606), Chicago a flat or low-slope roof ($450), and Portland a townhouse or Wildfire Zone reroof ($880 with plan review). The thresholds in the example cells differ: Seattle prices sheathing of any size, St. Louis more than 25% of the sheathing, Kansas City 32 sq ft or more of new decking, Indianapolis more than 128 ft of decking, and Fort Worth any decking. The sheathing examples run from $101 in Kansas City to $1,367 in San Diego, because San Diego and Seattle bill plan check and fixed charges on top of the permit.

Plan review, processing and surcharges are often most of the total

Plan review is a share of the permit fee in several cities: 25% in Houston, 40% in Seattle (100% for rafter or truss work), 65% in Portland, 100% in Phoenix above $5,000, and 50% in Tucson, while Minneapolis charges 65% only when plans are reviewed. Fixed charges add to the base: a $115 processing fee in Long Beach, a $211 processing line in San Jose, a $40 application fee in Miami, a $17.50 debris fee in Jacksonville, $3 city and $4.50 state surcharges in Philadelphia, a $4.50 state training fund plus $5 and $2 fees in Pittsburgh, two 4% surcharges in San Antonio, a $125 inspection fee and $15 technology fee in Dallas, a $33.08 application fee and $16.87 technology fee in Fort Worth, a $33.56 admin fee in Houston, a $49 processing fee in Cincinnati, a $20 processing fee in Milwaukee, a $25 application fee and 5% permit tax in Baltimore, a $25 application fee in St. Louis, a $3 technology charge in Charlotte, a technology surcharge of 10% of the fee in Sacramento, and a $25 review fee that can apply in Chicago. Los Angeles adds 2.7% when you pay by card. The biggest add-on is San Diego's $737.00 General Plan Maintenance Fee, which is more than half of its $1,367 example. Some examples leave out charges the page says apply: Jacksonville's Florida surcharges (1% and 1.5%), Miami's county code-compliance surcharge, and Milwaukee's possible $250 assessor service charge.

Who may pull it: the owner in 19 cities, with conditions in 7 more

Nineteen pages say an owner may pull the permit or do the work, usually with a condition: Los Angeles, Houston, Phoenix, Miami, Portland, San Antonio, San Diego, San Jose, Jacksonville, Charlotte, Minneapolis, Sacramento, Fort Worth, Milwaukee, Tucson, Kansas City, St. Louis, Pittsburgh and Cincinnati. The conditions include living in the home in Phoenix, Tucson, Minneapolis, Milwaukee, Charlotte and Cincinnati, a primary residence in Pittsburgh, a homestead in Jacksonville and Fort Worth, 12 months of ownership or occupancy in San Antonio, San Jose and Charlotte, and appearing in person in Miami and Jacksonville. Seven pages attach a harder limit: Chicago, Dallas, Philadelphia, Indianapolis, San Francisco, Albuquerque and Long Beach. Long Beach allows a homeowner no more than twice in three years, San Francisco's online permit is for C-39 roofers only, Chicago's owner cannot replace the licensed roofer, Indianapolis excludes a landlord, Albuquerque requires the owner to do the work personally or with W-2 employees, Philadelphia needs a licensed contractor's roof certification at final inspection, and Dallas requires an affidavit that nobody else is paid to help. Only New York is licensed-only: a PE or RA files, a Registered General Contractor holds the permit, and a Home Improvement Contractor license applies at 1-4 family homes. Three pages do not say who may pull it: Seattle, Baltimore and Louisville.

Where the city's documents disagree or the page calls the figure an estimate

Houston: The 2026 schedule has no re-roof line, so the roughly $147 applies the structural minimum; the page says a job priced higher by the reviewer can reach a few hundred dollars. Miami: The page reads 0.50 as one-half of one percent. It quotes a $45,000 tile roof at about $271 in the text but about $275 in the FAQ, and the county surcharge rate is not stated. Portland: The page says to ask PP&D whether the 65% plan review fee ($288.22) or the 50% processing fee applies to a reroof, so the roughly $880 total could be lower. San Jose: The $211 processing line is confirmed for counter filings only; the page says the online permit may price it differently, so the total could be as low as $236. Charlotte: The County handout exempts replacement with the same type of materials while the state statute exempts roofing replacement generally; the page says to call the County before a material change. Indianapolis: DBNS assigns the permit subtype ($290 or $390) when it reviews the application, and the 2021 Homeowner's Guide still says a reroof needs a Structural Renovation Permit. San Francisco: DBI's online page quotes $514 and up while Table 1A-G lists a $320 fee; the page explains the difference as the street space permit fee bundled into the reroofing permit. Milwaukee: The page says the city assessor may bill a $250 service charge on remodeling permits (MCO 81-6) and to ask whether it applies; it is not in the example. Louisville: The page says the department's own reroofing page could not be retrieved, so it tells readers to call Construction Review before covering rotten decking. St. Louis: The page says the 2018 ordinance printed a lower rate than the Building Division's page and online estimator, and it uses the Division's current figures. Pittsburgh: The page says PLI puts attached single- and two-family dwellings in the commercial category with a $605 minimum base fee, and tells readers to confirm which category the portal assigns. Long Beach: The City Council approved a new Master Fee and Charges Schedule on September 8, 2026, effective October 1, 2026; the page's figures are the schedule before that date. The table flags these rows rather than resolving them.

Method

The 30 cities are the ones whose BuildPermitGuide pages have been rewritten from primary sources as of October 2026: the city's adopted code and exemption list, its permit page or bulletin, its current fee schedule or ordinance and its contractor and owner-builder rules, each fetched and quoted on the city's roof replacement permit page. The status in the table is the band of the city page's own worked example for a reroof that needs a permit, using the total the page states and every city fee the example bundles; in the 14 cities that permit every reroof it is the ordinary tear-off and reshingle, and in the 16 that exempt a like-for-like reroof it is the first case the page prices that does need a permit, and the cell says which. Where a page also gives a figure for a different roof, a contingency or a fee the city does not publish, the cell notes it and the status does not use it. The reshingle column is what the page says an ordinary like-for-like tear-off and reshingle on a house costs in city fees, with $0 meaning the page says no permit is needed. The pricing and owner columns are the page's fee section and scenario table, and the owner counts come from its licensing paragraph. Contractors' own prices, engineers' and architects' fees and the cost of the roof are never included. Nothing in this table is taken from a model code or another city's schedule; where a city's documents disagree or a page calls a figure an estimate, the row carries a flag instead of a resolution. Each city page carries the date its sources were last verified, and the change log records when a cited document changes.

Use this data. The table and CSV are published under CC BY 4.0. Cite it as:
BuildPermitGuide, “How Much Does a Roof Permit Cost? 30 Cities Compared” (2026), https://buildpermitguide.com/research/roof-permit-fees/
Questions, corrections or a city you want added: contact us.

Frequently asked questions

Across the 30 largest cities we compared, the city's own worked example for a reroof that needs a permit runs from $31 in San Antonio to $1,367 in San Diego, and the median is $194. Six are under $125, nine are $125 to $199, seven are $200 to $299 and eight are $300 or more. An ordinary tear-off and reshingle costs $0 in 16 cities, where it needs no permit, and $31 to $514 in the other 14. The examples are not all the same job, and contractors' prices are not included.
In 16 cities nothing, because a like-for-like reroof on a house is exempt: New York, Chicago, Phoenix, Seattle, Portland, San Diego, Charlotte, Indianapolis, Baltimore, Fort Worth, Milwaukee, Louisville, Tucson, Kansas City, St. Louis and Cincinnati. In the other 14 it is a permit, in order of cost: San Antonio $31, Albuquerque $70, Philadelphia $77, Pittsburgh $142, Houston $147, Miami $154, Jacksonville $168, Los Angeles $201, Sacramento $221, Minneapolis $232, Dallas $321, Long Beach $394, San Jose $447 and San Francisco $514. San Jose's and Miami's figures are totals the page states for a typical job, and San Jose's depends on whether a $211 processing line applies to an online filing.
Seventeen cities price it on the value of the job, ten charge a flat line (Chicago's and Indianapolis's apply to the case their page prices), one (Jacksonville) prices by roof area with a minimum, and two (San Diego and Houston) bill hours or build the figure from fee-schedule minimums. Dallas and Fort Worth cite Texas law barring value-based residential fees, so the roof's price does not change the fee: $321 in Dallas and $168.95 in Fort Worth when decking is replaced.
Plan review adds 25% to 100% of the permit fee in several cities (Houston, Seattle, Portland, Phoenix above $5,000, Tucson and Minneapolis when plans are reviewed), and fixed charges range from Philadelphia's $3 and $4.50 surcharges to San Diego's $737.00 General Plan Maintenance Fee, Long Beach's $115 processing fee and San Jose's $211 processing line. Los Angeles adds 2.7% for cards, and Jacksonville's Florida surcharges, Miami's county surcharge and Milwaukee's possible $250 assessor charge are not in those pages' examples.
They are the three examples above $800, and none of them prices a plain reshingle, which costs $0 in all three. San Diego's $1,367 is a re-sheathing permit with two plan check hours plus a $737.00 General Plan Maintenance Fee. Seattle's $884 is an $18,000 re-roof with new sheathing at a house, with 40% plan review and technology and state fees. Portland's $880 is an $18,000 reroof in a townhouse or Wildfire Zone with a 65% plan review fee. The most expensive ordinary reshingle is San Francisco at $514 and up.
Nineteen pages say an owner may pull the permit or do the work, usually if they live in the home. Seven attach a harder limit (Long Beach, San Francisco, Chicago, Indianapolis, Albuquerque, Philadelphia and Dallas), New York is licensed-only, and three pages do not say (Seattle, Baltimore and Louisville).
When the job goes past the covering. Nine of the 16 exempt cities price new sheathing, decking or a roof deck (Tucson, San Diego, Kansas City, St. Louis, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Fort Worth, Seattle and New York), four price rafter or truss work (Indianapolis, Louisville, Baltimore and Milwaukee), and three price a material change in Phoenix, a flat roof in Chicago or a townhouse or Wildfire Zone reroof in Portland. Those examples run from $75 in Louisville to $1,367 in San Diego.

The city pages behind this table

Each page quotes the code section, exempt-work list and fee schedule it relies on and records the date they were last verified.

Related: Do you need a permit to replace a roof · Roof Replacement Permit Guide · How much does a building permit cost · Deck permit fees compared · Roof replacement permits in all 50 cities · Which cities changed their permit fees in 2026 · Permit fee change log · Open data exports

Stay up to date
Get notified when we add new cities or update permit fees.