Short answer: most big cities repriced permits this year, but almost none say by how much. Of the 30 largest U.S. cities we cover, 18 have a residential fee schedule, ordinance or fee table that took effect between December 21, 2025 and October 1, 2026. Only four of those publish the direction of the change on the documents our pages cite: Seattle raised construction permit fees 18 percent, Sacramento raised its technology surcharge from 8 to 10 percent and added a $132 Planning intake fee, Portland's 2026 schedules are higher than the city's own published sample, and San Jose added a $211 processing line to counter-filed permits. Chicago is the one city with a documented cut, halving its fence fee. Ten cities are charging a schedule dated 2025 or earlier, and two (Long Beach and Albuquerque) adopted a change the city had not posted when their pages were written. We read each city's fee schedule, the ordinance or resolution behind it and the permit pages that apply it, and recorded the schedule in force, its effective date, what the city says changed and the surcharges stacked on every permit.
Every row links to the city page that quotes the rule, so you can read the source language yourself. The table sorts by any column.
All 30 cities
| City | 2026 status | Schedule in force | What changed | Added to every permit | Document the city page cites, and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albuquerque, NM | Change not yet posted ⚠ | 2024 Uniform Administrative Code Tables 112-A and 112-F; General Planning Fee Schedule | The fee tables are unchanged, but a regulation adopted in April 2026 moves valuation to the February 2021 ICC table for applications received from July 1, 2026, so per-square-foot figures may rise. The pages carry the older handout values and say so. | $47 administrative charge on trade permits; 65% plan review; a 0.50 residential modifier on Table 112-A; $90 instead of $35 for a wall built without a permit | UAC Tables 112-A, 112-F; General Planning Fee Schedule The zoning Wall or Fence Approval is $35. |
| Baltimore, MD | No 2026 change found | Building, Fire and Related Codes of Baltimore City 2024, Part II §109 | No 2026 change: the fee lines are in the 2024 code itself ($10 per 100 ft of fence, $0.30 per sq ft of interior alteration with a $50 minimum, $10 per $1,000 exterior, $30 per furnace or AC unit, $5 per fixture). | $25 application fee ($125 with plan review); 5% Building Code Permit Tax rounded up; the penalty for unpermitted work is the greater of $1,000 or 50% of the fee | §109.3, 109.5.7, 109.6.1, 109.7 The fence line names no minimum; the page reads the code's $25 general minimum as applying. |
| Charlotte, NC | New 2026 schedule ⚠ | LUESA Fee Ordinance rev. July 1, 2026 (Mecklenburg County); City FY2026 IRL schedule; Health Department FY2027 | County valuation table $59.70 up to $3,000 + $12.19 per $1,000, priced per trade; City zoning review $65 + stormwater $50 (FY2026); Health pool approval $75 (FY2027). Prior-year County amounts are not stated. | $3 technology charge on every County permit; $10 Homeowner Recovery Fund when a contractor pulls the building permit; $45 plan review + $45 per inspection trip on owner-as-contractor permits | LUESA Fee Ordinance; City FY2026 IRL schedule The City Zoning Use Permit figure ($330) is from the FY2025 sheet; the FY2026 sheet could not be reached. |
| Chicago, IL | New 2026 schedule | 2026 Revenue Ordinance SO2025-0021719, adopted Dec 19, 2025, in force for 2026 | The fence fee for a non-masonry fence up to 6 ft was cut from $150 to $75; a porch and deck category was added ($75 / $150 / $300); a $602 minimum applies to all plan-based permits with a $600 deposit; the stand-alone table is CPI-indexed from 2026, first adjustment effective Jan 1, 2027. | $25 online review fee may apply; $600 non-refundable deposit on drawing-based applications; $500 affordable-unit registration on ADUs | Table 14A-12-1204.2 as amended by SO2025-0021719 The only documented fee cut in the table. |
| Cincinnati, OH | New 2026 schedule | Buildings & Inspections FY2027 fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026 | FY2027 schedule: valuation permits from $173 (up to $4,000) to $1,065 at $50,000 + $11.59 per $1,000 above; flat $118 HVAC replacement; plumbing $68 per replaced fixture, $97 per new one; Zoning Certificate of Compliance $151. Prior-year figures are not stated. | $49 processing fee at application; five surcharges (3% technology, 1% training, 1% financial recovery, 5% planning, 1% state), about $11 per $100; electrical permits are Inspection Bureau Inc.'s ($60 + items, schedule effective Jan 1, 2025) | FY2027 B&I fee schedule; fence handout Ohio applications file through the CAGIS ezTrak portal since Sept 14, 2026. |
| Dallas, TX | No 2026 change found | Planning & Development fee schedule effective July 1, 2025; Chapter 52 §303 current through April 23, 2025 | No 2026 change; the July 2025 schedule still applies. Flat $181 single-family alteration base (Table B-II), $1.07 per sq ft for new work (Table A-I), plan review $0.046 per sq ft with a $577 minimum. | $125 inspection fee per trade; $15 technology fee per document; 10% surcharge in planned development, specific-use-permit and deed-restricted areas | Chapter 52 Sec. 303; fee schedule eff. 2025-07-01 No fee line exists for sheds, fences, decks or pools; the pages apply the alteration base and label the result an estimate. |
| Fort Worth, TX | New 2026 schedule | Fee Ordinance 26-28781, adopted Sept 15, 2026, effective Oct 1, 2026 (City Code §7-119) | New ordinance: $119 per trade for residential remodels, a Group U accessory table ($61.01 up to 175 sq ft, then $102 + $0.20 per sq ft), electrical service items $19.75 to $39.53 by amperage, mechanical items $6.10 to $16.46, flat per Texas LGC 214.907. Prior ordinance amounts are not stated. | $33.08 application fee + $16.87 technology fee on every permit (whether the technology fee applies to a standalone trade permit is unconfirmed; the pages show both totals) | Fee Ordinance 26-28781 The 2026 National Electrical Code took effect Sept 1, 2026. |
| Houston, TX | New 2026 schedule | 2026 Building Code Enforcement fee schedule | The 2026 schedule is in force; the pages do not compare it to 2025. Residential building permits are priced by square-footage tier because Texas HB 852 bars valuation-based residential fees; $91.06 minimum permit fee; fences by length. | $33.56 administrative fee on every permit plus a non-refundable plan review fee of 25% of the permit fee | HPC 2026 Building Code Enforcement fee schedule (media/2636) The schedule has no pool or reroof line; the $91.06 structural minimum governs those. |
| Indianapolis, IN | New 2026 schedule | DBNS fee schedule of Jan 5, 2026 (flat, not valuation-based) | DBNS switched to a flat fee schedule on Jan 5, 2026: Improvement Location Permit $140; structural permits $290 (miscellaneous), $390 (remodel) or $490 (accessory structure). Craft permits ($153 plumbing, $169 electrical, $153 to $185 HVAC) were not changed in 2026. | None on craft permits; the $40 application fee is inside the structural totals; $23 per additional 500 sq ft on craft permits | DBNS fee schedule 2026-01-05 Sec. 536-201 exemptions were amended by G.O. 38, 2025, effective Jan 1, 2026; no residential drainage permit since May 1, 2025. |
| Jacksonville, FL | No 2026 change found | Ordinance Code Sec. 320.409 fee tables, carried on the city-fees page, undated | No 2026 change recorded. Flat accessory-structure lines ($45 + $15 + $25 over-the-counter shed), alterations $3 per $1,000 ($112.50 minimum), trades $60 minimum, roofing $10 per 1,000 sq ft ($150 minimum), in-ground pools $1.50 per 1,000 gallons. | Florida 1% + 1.5% surcharges (at least $2 each); $17.50 debris fee on roofing; $90 plan review minimum; $37.50 Development Services fee | Sec. 320.409; Sec. 320.408(f) The state surcharges are not shown on the city's fee page, so the pages leave them out of every range and say so. |
| Kansas City, MO | No 2026 change found | KC Code Sec. 18-20(b)(2) valuation table, verified against the city's 2016 fee-estimator JavaScript | No 2026 change recorded: one valuation table for the building permit and each trade on 1–2 family homes, $52 up to $1,000, $58 to $2,000, then $4.33 per $1,000 to $100,000 and $483 + $1.41 above; no separate plan review fee. | None stated; a BZA special exception to exceed fence limits is $174 | Sec. 18-20(b)(2); IB129 Kansas City, Kansas is a separate city with its own permit office and fees. |
| Long Beach, CA | Change not yet posted ⚠ | LBMC 18.06 fee tiers and IB-077 valuations as of Sept 2026; a new Master Fee and Charges Schedule adopted Sept 8, 2026, effective Oct 1, 2026 | A new Master Fee and Charges Schedule took effect Oct 1, 2026 and had not been posted when the pages were written. Every Long Beach page carries the pre-October figures ($101 for the first $500 of value + $3 per $100, then $149 + $16 per $1,000; 85% plan check) and tells the reader to check the posted schedule. | $115 processing fee on every application; plan check 85% ($154 minimum); zoning plan check 0.5% of valuation ($310 minimum); state fees $0.13 per $1,000 + $1; records fee 5% ($35 minimum) | LBMC 18.06; IB-077; IB-058 The 2025 Energy Code has applied since Jan 1, 2026. |
| Los Angeles, CA | No 2026 change found | LADBS Permit Fee Calculator valuation tables, undated on the pages; exemptions from the 2026 Los Angeles Building Code | No fee change recorded. The 2026 code and the 2026 bulletins (P/BC 2026-014, 2026-080, 2026-096, 2026-150, P/GI 2026-002) changed exemptions and retrofit triggers, not the fee tables. | Green building, plan maintenance, earthquake instrumentation, planning and systems surcharges folded into the calculator totals; 3% + 6% on trade permits; $23 issuing fee; 2.7% card fee | LAMC 91.106.2; LADBS fee schedules and Permit Fee Calculator Trade permits are per item with a $90 minimum for two or more items. |
| Louisville, KY | No 2026 change found | LMCO 150.096 fee schedule, revised Feb 6, 2024 | No newer schedule found: alterations and non-building structures $50 + $2.50 per $1,000 with a $75 minimum; new floor area $0.105 per sq ft; electrical $75 or $100; HVAC $105 for the first system + $50 each. Plumbing permits are the state's ($50 + $14 per opening). | None stated beyond the $75 minimum; extra inspections $50 each; BOZA variance $200, conditional use permit $550 | LMCO 150.096 (Revised 2/6/2024); 815 KAR 20:050 louisvilleky.gov blocks every client, so the schedule was read from the site's PDF path and LDC text from 2026 Legistar staff reports. |
| Miami, FL | New 2026 schedule ⚠ | City Code 10-18 as amended by Ord. 14439, effective Jan 22, 2026 | Residential permits are priced at 0.50 of estimated construction cost, read as one-half of one percent, with a $110 minimum and a $45 fixed fee under $2,500. Prior rates are not stated; the city's fee PDF was unreachable. | $40 application fee; solid-waste surcharge $0.22 per $100 ($26 to $600; roofing and sheds exempt); state surcharges 1% + 1.5% (at least $2 each); a Miami-Dade County code-compliance surcharge of unstated rate | City Code 10-18; City Code 10-5(b) The SAVE pilot halves city fees for storm-proofing upgrades and efficient HVAC until Feb 12, 2027. The code prints the residential rate as '0.50' with no percent sign; the pages read it as 0.5% because the commercial rate in the same section says 'one percent'. |
| Milwaukee, WI | New 2026 schedule | DNS 2026 fee schedule dated March 6, 2026 (MCO 200-33) | The 2026 schedule is in force: 1.6% of construction cost ($150 minimum) plus plan review for 1–2 family alterations; fence $25 flat; electrical service up to 400 A $130; plumbing $20 per fixture ($85 minimum); HVAC $55 per heating unit, $60 per AC unit. Prior-year figures are not stated. | 1.6% training and technology surcharge on permit and review fees; processing fee $20 (building), $25 (electrical) or $35 (fence); assessor service charge $250 or $450 on remodeling permits (MCO 81-6); the fence fee is quadrupled if work starts first | MCO 200-33; DNS fence sheet updated March 2026 The $86.20 pool permit comes from the DNS Environmental packet; the ordinance line was not found. |
| Minneapolis, MN | No 2026 change found | Building permit fee schedule (a Smartsheet linked from the fees page), undated; state surcharge | No 2026 change recorded. $104.20 for the first $2,000 + $20.60 per $1,000 to $25,000 ($84.20 minimum), 65% plan review when plans are reviewed; mechanical levels $84.20 / $132.40 / $216.60; plumbing $41.40 per fixture. | State surcharge of 0.0005 times the value, or $1 on flat permits; electrical is the state's (DLI: $25 + $1 + at least $55 per trip); Metropolitan Council SAC $2,485 per unit in 2026 | MCO 91.230; Minn. R. 1300.0120; DLI fee schedule The zoning fee table (Section 525.230) has no fence line even though every fence needs zoning approval. |
| New York, NY | New 2026 schedule | Admin Code Table 28-112.2 as amended by Local Law 128 of 2024, in effect Dec 21, 2025 | Alteration filing at a 1–3 family home is a $130 minimum for the first $5,000 of job cost plus $2.60 per $1,000 (Alteration Type 1 $170 minimum). The pages quote the amended table; they do not state the prior rates. | None on the DOB filing fee itself; the PE or RA's fee and separate electrical and plumbing permits are extra | Admin Code Table 28-112.2; 1 RCNY 101-14 The 2025 NYC Energy Conservation Code applies to applications completed on or after March 30, 2026. |
| Philadelphia, PA | No 2026 change found | L&I fee summary PG_012 Rev 7.2026, effective Oct 1, 2026 (rows unchanged since Jan 2025); zoning fee summary PZ_008 (July 2026) | The project rows are identical to the schedule in force since January 2025; only the permit reinstatement fee moved, from $75 to $300. Flat $69 roof, pool and appliance rows, $76 per 500 sq ft alterations, $25 per $1,000 electrical ($63 minimum), $189 residential zoning. | $3 city + $4.50 state surcharge on building permits (zoning approvals carry none); $25 filing fee credited to the balance; $2,000 accelerated review | PG_012 Rev 7.2026; PZ_008 The EZ standards (deck PB_018, pool PB_010, reroof PB_012, kitchen and bath PB_026, ductwork PB_029) were revised in July and August 2026 for the 2021 IRC. |
| Phoenix, AZ | New 2026 schedule | 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Appendix A.2, effective Jan 20, 2026 (Ord. G-7465) | New schedule in force; prior rates not stated. Table A on valuation, a $98 minimum for residential fences and water heaters, a $234 pool minimum, 100% plan review above $5,000 and none at the counter below it. | None on every permit: a $30 aquatics surcharge and $98 plot plan review apply to pool permits; an investigation fee of at least $250 plus a doubled fee for work without a permit | PDD Fee Schedule Appendix A.2; TRT 00001/00002 valuation guides Enforcement of the 2023 NEC 210.8(F) GFCI rule for HVAC equipment is deferred to March 1, 2027. |
| Pittsburgh, PA | New 2026 schedule | PLI 2026 Fee Schedule, effective Jan 1, 2026; DCP zoning fees | 2026 schedule: residential base fee $6.00 per $1,000 of construction value, $130 minimum and $8,000 maximum; no separate certificate of occupancy fee on construction permits any more; zoning review $1 per $1,000 with a $50 minimum. The prior-year base is not stated. | $4.50 state training fund fee + $5 digital record retention fee + $2 to $25 technology fee; 40% of the base due at filing; plumbing is Allegheny County's ($80 + $22 per fixture, $27 replacement card, schedule effective Jan 1, 2023) | PLI 2026 Fee Schedule; ACHD fee schedule PLI's permitting page puts attached 1–2 family houses in the commercial category, where the minimum base fee is $605; every page says so. |
| Portland, OR | Documented increase | PP&D 2026 fee schedules (building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing) | The 2026 schedules are higher than the city's published ADU sample ($36,720.91). Building permit $220.85 for the first $2,000 + $13.91 per $1,000 with 65% plan review; $167 mechanical minimum; 200 A service $212; $63 per plumbing fixture. | Oregon 12% state surcharge on every permit fee; Development Services fee $35.74 + $3.74 per $1,000; $125 zoning inspection when Planning reviews the permit | PP&D fee schedules; Portland City Code 24.10.072 The 2026 Oregon Residential Specialty Code is expected to be adopted Oct 1, 2026 with a phase-in to March 31, 2027. |
| Sacramento, CA | Documented increase | CDD-0245 residential fee schedule rev. July 12, 2026; Table B.1 flat fees in effect since July 19, 2025 | The technology surcharge rose from 8% to 10% of permit plus plan review on July 12, 2026 and a $132 Planning intake fee was added. The flat Table B.1 lines ($175 reroof and HVAC, $105 minor electrical or plumbing, $425 same-layout kitchen, $320 bath) are unchanged since July 19, 2025. | 10% technology surcharge; General Plan fee $2.60 per $1,000; green building $1 per $25,000; strong motion valuation × 0.00013; business operations tax valuation × 0.0004 when a contractor holds the permit; Fire Department fees on pools | CDD-0245; Table B.1; CDD-0419 Minor HVAC and EV charger permits use virtual inspections since Jan 12, 2026. The city's live fee database is an ArcGIS feature service. |
| San Antonio, TX | New 2026 schedule ⚠ | DSD FY 2027 Development Fee Schedule, revised Sept 2026 | The FY 2027 schedule is in force with flat residential lines: fence $28.75, reroof $28.75, deck $184, pool $414, trade permits $57.50 base plus items, ADU combination permit by square footage. Prior-year amounts are not stated. | Two 4% surcharges (technology and DSD) on everything; $11.50 staff-processing fee on paper applications; 3% card fee | FY 2027 Development Fee Schedule; City Code §10-10(b) City Code §10-38 still prints valuation-based fees (Ord. 2025-01-30); the pages follow the adopted schedule under §10-10(b). |
| San Diego, CA | No 2026 change found | IB 501 / IB 103 flat fee lines, undated on the pages | No 2026 fee change recorded. IB 123 (revised Sept 2026) and IB 400 (Jan 2026) changed guidance, not fees. Flat per-project lines: a fence over 7 ft $2,031 plan check + $529.71 inspection per 100 ft; panel $176.57 to 200 A; bathroom with plans $3,512.92 + $2,228.29. | $737 General Plan Maintenance Fee on plan-reviewed work; $12.16 mapping fee | IB 501 Table 501C; IB 103 Whether the 2.5-hour DIF assessment charge applies to a given project is unknown; the pages say so. |
| San Francisco, CA | New 2026 schedule | DBI fee Tables 1A-A, 1A-C, 1A-E and 1A-G effective July 12, 2026; Planning FY26-27 fee schedule | New tables in force: plan review $310 for the first $2,000 + $28.35 per $1,000 and issuance $266 + $8.56 per $1,000 on work valued $2,001 to $50,000; reroof $320 at 1–2 family homes; electrical $450 at 225 A or less. Prior-year rates are not stated. | $5 lead-safe surcharge on pre-1979 1–2 family homes; state fees; Planning application fee $504 under $10,000; neighborhood notification $121 + $4.25 per envelope when triggered | DBI Tables 1A-A, 1A-C, 1A-E, 1A-G; Planning fee schedule Planning's fence handout was updated May 2026. |
| San Jose, CA | Documented increase | Schedule of Fees and Charges, FY2026-27 resolution effective July 1, 2026 | The FY2026-27 schedule adds permit processing lines at 1.0 hour, $211 (fence, reroof, kitchen, bath, combination of fixtures; ADU $422 / $633) alongside the $315 per hour inspection tiers and $325 per hour plan check. The pool line was last restated in FY2023-24 and not amended since. | $211 processing line on counter-filed permits; taxes (the city's ADU estimator shows $4,129 of taxes inside a $12,628 total) | Schedule of Fees and Charges eff. 2026-07-01 (Council fee resolutions on Legistar) Whether the $211 processing line applies to online permits is unconfirmed on the pages. |
| Seattle, WA | Documented increase | 2026 SDCI Fee Subtitle, effective Jan 1, 2026 | Construction permit fees rose 18% on Jan 1, 2026. SDCI's own 500 sq ft DADU example is $3,453 in permit and plan review fees, up 18.7% from 2025. The electrical fee table was rewritten to remove duplicate lines and is not expected to raise costs. | 5% technology fee + $6.50 state Building Code Council surcharge on building permits; $55.48 administrative fee on electrical permits; plumbing and gas are King County's ($137 + $27 per fixture or outlet) | 2026 Fee Subtitle Tables D-1, D-2, D-8, D-15; Director's Rule 5-2025 King County requires a plumbing permit for a replacement water heater since July 1, 2026. |
| St. Louis, MO | No 2026 change found ⚠ | Building Division fee table, undated: $25 application + $19, $23 or $30 up to $3,000, then $10 per $1,000 | No 2026 change recorded. The codified Ord. 70795 Table R109.3.1 still prints $6 per $1,000 with a $15 minimum and no amending ordinance was found; the pages use the Division's live figures and say so. Trade fees: electrical $60 service, HVAC $40 per unit, plumbing $10 per fixture. | $25 application fee; early-start surcharges of $30 to $360 (Table R109.4); $25 building-line survey from Zoning | Building Division fee table; Ord. 70795; Ords. 70800, 70802, 71644 An older Revised Code chapter from 1992 still mentions a $25,000 minor-repair threshold for mechanical work; the 2018 Mechanical Code adopted later requires a permit for any mechanical work. |
| Tucson, AZ | New 2026 schedule ⚠ | PDSD FY27 fee schedule, adopted May 19, 2026, effective July 1, 2026; Construction Valuation Table effective July 1, 2026 | FY27 schedule: building permit $89.45 up to $2,000 + $22.95 per $1,000 to $25,000 with 50% residential plan review; trade permits $150 for the first item + $50 each additional; private pool $730.28 flat; fences $28.08 + $5.62 per 100 ft. Prior-year figures are not stated. | 1% digital filing fee ($18.54 minimum) on everything; plan review beyond half an hour at $100 per hour; impact fees on new dwellings | PDSD FY27 fee schedule A reconnect after six months off costs $135.59 on the Residential Permits page but is a $150 trade item on the FY27 schedule. |
The status is the city page's reading of the city's documents on the date it was last verified. "New 2026 schedule" means a schedule, ordinance or fee table that took effect on or after December 21, 2025 whose prior rates the city page does not state; "Documented increase" means the city's own documents say the fees went up. "Schedule in force" sorts by effective date; undated schedules sort first. The add-on column lists the fixed fees and percentage surcharges the city applies on top of the base permit fee, which rarely appear in a headline fee. Rows link to the city's hub page because one schedule prices all ten project pages. Download the table as CSV.
What the comparison shows
Eighteen cities repriced permits for 2026, in two waves
Six schedules took effect around the new year: New York's amended Administrative Code fee table on December 21, 2025 (Local Law 128 of 2024), Pittsburgh's PLI schedule and Seattle's Fee Subtitle on January 1, Indianapolis's switch from valuation to flat fees on January 5, Phoenix's Appendix A.2 on January 20 and Miami's Ordinance 14439 on January 22; Chicago's 2026 Revenue Ordinance was adopted December 19, 2025, Houston's 2026 schedule is in force and Milwaukee's DNS schedule is dated March 6, 2026. A second wave came with the fiscal year: Charlotte's County fee ordinance, Cincinnati's FY2027 schedule, Tucson's FY27 schedule and San Jose's FY2026-27 resolution on July 1, then San Francisco's DBI tables and Sacramento's CDD-0245 on July 12. The fall brought San Antonio's FY 2027 revision in September and, on October 1, Fort Worth's Fee Ordinance 26-28781, Long Beach's new Master Fee and Charges Schedule and Philadelphia's PG_012 Rev 7.2026, which changed nothing but the reinstatement fee.
Only five cities say which way the number moved
Portland, Sacramento, San Jose, Seattle publish an increase in the documents our pages cite. Seattle's is the clearest: SDCI raised construction permit fees 18 percent on January 1, 2026, and its own 500 sq ft DADU example is $3,453, up 18.7 percent from 2025. Sacramento raised the technology surcharge on every valuation permit from 8 to 10 percent of permit plus plan review on July 12, 2026 and added a $132 Planning intake fee, while leaving its flat Table B.1 lines where they were in July 2025. Portland's 2026 schedules are higher than the ADU sample the city still publishes. San Jose's FY2026-27 resolution added a $211 permit processing line to fence, reroof, kitchen, bath and fixture permits filed at the counter. The one documented decrease is Chicago, where the 2026 Revenue Ordinance cut the fee for a non-masonry fence up to 6 feet from $150 to $75, though the same ordinance set a $602 minimum on every plan-based permit and indexed the stand-alone table to CPI from 2027. The other 13 new schedules state the new rates and nothing about the old ones.
Ten cities are charging a schedule older than 2026
Baltimore, Dallas, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Louisville, Minneapolis, Philadelphia, San Diego, St. Louis have no 2026 change on record. Some are recent: Dallas's schedule took effect July 1, 2025 and Philadelphia's October 2026 summary repeats the rows in force since January 2025. Some are not: Louisville's LMCO 150.096 was last revised February 6, 2024, Baltimore's fees sit inside the 2024 code itself, and Kansas City's valuation table matches the fee-estimator script the city published in 2016. Four of the ten (Los Angeles, San Diego, Jacksonville, Minneapolis) and St. Louis publish fee tables with no date at all, so a reader cannot tell when they last moved.
The add-ons are where the bill grows
Twenty-two of the 30 cities add a fixed fee or a percentage to every permit, four more add one only to certain permits (Chicago's online review fee and plan deposit, Phoenix's pool surcharge, San Diego's plan-review fee, San Jose's counter processing line), and the headline fee rarely includes any of it. The percentage stacks: Cincinnati's five surcharges add about $11 per $100 (3% technology, 1% training, 1% financial recovery, 5% planning, 1% state); Portland adds Oregon's 12 percent state surcharge; Sacramento adds 10 percent technology plus four valuation-based fees; San Antonio two 4 percent surcharges; Seattle 5 percent plus $6.50; Baltimore a 5 percent permit tax; Milwaukee 1.6 percent; Florida's two cities 1 percent plus 1.5 percent; Miami a solid-waste surcharge of $0.22 per $100 on top. The flat stacks: Fort Worth $33.08 + $16.87 on every permit, Houston $33.56 plus 25 percent plan review, Dallas $125 per trade inspected plus $15, Cincinnati $49, Long Beach $115 processing, Miami $40 application, Baltimore $25, St. Louis $25, Pittsburgh $4.50 + $5 + $2, Philadelphia $3 + $4.50, San Diego's $737 General Plan Maintenance Fee on anything plan-reviewed. Four cities list no add-on at all on the permits we track: New York (the PE or RA's fee is the real cost), Indianapolis (flat fees with the application fee inside), Louisville and Kansas City.
Texas prices by the square foot because state law says so
Houston, Dallas, Fort Worth and San Antonio all price residential permits by square footage, per trade or at a flat rate rather than on construction value, because Texas HB 852 and Local Government Code 214.907 bar valuation-based residential fees. That is why a Dallas fence has no fee line of its own (the pages apply the $181 alteration base), why Fort Worth charges $119 per trade and $61.01 for a shed up to 175 sq ft, and why a San Antonio reroof is $28.75 whatever the roof costs. Everywhere else in the table the building permit is a function of job value, with the city setting the value from its own tables in Phoenix, Seattle, Sacramento, Long Beach and Los Angeles rather than from the contract.
Where the city's own documents disagree
St. Louis's codified Ordinance 70795 still prints $6 per $1,000 with a $15 minimum while the Building Division charges $25 plus $10 per $1,000, and no amending ordinance was found. San Antonio's City Code §10-38 still prints valuation-based fees although the adopted FY 2027 schedule is flat; the pages follow the schedule under §10-10(b). Miami's code prints the residential rate as "0.50" with no percent sign; the pages read it as half a percent because the commercial rate in the same subsection says "one percent". Tucson's Residential Permits page quotes a $135.59 reconnect fee that the FY27 schedule lists at $150. Charlotte's Zoning Use Permit is the FY2025 figure because the FY2026 sheet could not be reached. Long Beach's new schedule took effect October 1, 2026 before the city posted it, so its ten pages carry the old figures and say so, and Albuquerque's July 1, 2026 switch to the 2021 ICC valuation table had not reached the handout its pages cite. Each city page states the discrepancy; the table flags those rows rather than picking a side.
Method
The 30 cities are the ones whose BuildPermitGuide pages have been rewritten from primary sources as of October 2026: the city's current fee schedule, the ordinance or resolution that adopted it, its valuation tables where fees are value-based, and the permit pages and bulletins that apply them, each fetched and quoted on the ten project pages for that city. A city counts as having a new 2026 schedule only when the document itself carries an effective or revision date on or after December 21, 2025; a city counts as a documented increase only when its own documents state that fees rose. Where a page could not state the prior rates, the row says so rather than inferring a direction. Add-on fees are those the city applies to every residential permit, as listed on the schedule or the city's own worked examples. Nothing in this table is estimated from another city's rules, and where a city's documents disagree the row carries a flag instead of a resolution. Each city page carries the date its sources were last verified, and the change log records when a cited fee schedule changes.
BuildPermitGuide, “Which Cities Changed Their Permit Fees in 2026? 30 Cities Compared” (2026), https://buildpermitguide.com/research/permit-fee-changes-2026/Questions, corrections or a city you want added: contact us.
Frequently asked questions
The city pages behind this table
Each page quotes the code section, exempt-work list and fee schedule it relies on and records the date they were last verified.
- Albuquerque, NM
- Baltimore, MD
- Charlotte, NC
- Chicago, IL
- Cincinnati, OH
- Dallas, TX
- Fort Worth, TX
- Houston, TX
- Indianapolis, IN
- Jacksonville, FL
- Kansas City, MO
- Long Beach, CA
- Los Angeles, CA
- Louisville, KY
- Miami, FL
- Milwaukee, WI
- Minneapolis, MN
- New York, NY
- Philadelphia, PA
- Phoenix, AZ
- Pittsburgh, PA
- Portland, OR
- Sacramento, CA
- San Antonio, TX
- San Diego, CA
- San Francisco, CA
- San Jose, CA
- Seattle, WA
- St. Louis, MO
- Tucson, AZ
Related: How much does a building permit cost? · Permit fee change log · Fence permit rules compared · Shed size exemptions compared · ADU rules compared · Open data exports